Who can be a Blue Star mother?

Who can be a Blue Star mother?

A Mother or Stepmother (since the child was of the age of 13) who has a son or daughter who is serving, or has been honorably discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States.

What is a military blue star mother?

About Blue Star Mothers1. We are mothers, stepmothers, grandmothers, foster mothers and female legal guardians who have children serving in the military, guard or reserves, or children who are veterans. We support each other and our children while promoting patriotism.

What is a Blue Star and Gold Star Mother?

Blue Star Mothers of America, Inc. The Service Flag had a star for each family member in the military. Living servicemen were represented by a Blue Star and those who had lost their lives were represented by a Gold Star.

What is Blue Star Mothers Day?

“Blue Star Mothers show strength and resilience and make our country stronger. We all must come together to support these strong women. Designating February 1st as Blue Star Mother’s Day recognizes their service and sacrifice.”

How do I become a Blue Star mother?

In order to join Blue Star Mothers of America, you must be the mother of an active-duty or discharged military personnel or have been the step-mother of this child(ren) before they were thirteen years of age. Membership dues are $30 a year. There is no charge to become an associate member.

What defines a Gold Star Mother?

When an active-duty service member dies, his or her mother automatically becomes a Gold Star Mother. It’s a distinction that no mother wants, but it’s one they wear proudly.

What is a white star family?

A White Star family is someone who loses a loved one who served in the military to suicide. Losing a family member to combat or suicide are both are incredibly tragic, but it’s an important distinction.

How do you become a Blue Star mother?

How many Gold Star Mothers are there?

While all mothers of fallen service members are considered Gold Star Mothers, there’s a veterans service organization they can join for support, known as the American Gold Star Mothers. The group, which has about 1,000 active members, was started in 1928 by one woman — Grace Darling Seibold.

What are Red Star families?

Gold crosses set inside a blue star signified that a family member was wounded. A red star represented a captured or missing member.

What is a gold Star parent?

The Gold Star family is one that has experienced a loss of a loved one–an immediate family member who died as the result of military service. Those who have died on duty leave behind parents, siblings, spouses, and children. Those left behind are recognized as Gold Star families.

What is a Gold Star Family member?

Gold star families – spouses, children, parents, siblings or others whose loved one died in service to our nation – are a vital part of our country’s military community and history.

What is the history of the Blue Star Mothers?

Army Capt. George Maines conceived the idea for the Blue Star Mothers. He ran a newspaper article in Flint, Michigan, in January 1942, requesting information about children serving in the armed forces. More than 1,000 mothers responded.

Who is eligible to join the Blue Star Mothers?

The law updates the Blue Star Mothers Congressional Charter to: Include grandmothers, adoptive mothers, foster mothers, and female legal guardians; expand membership to mothers whose children have served more recently, by removing references to specific conflicts; and expand membership to eligible mothers living outside of the U.S.

Is Blue Star Mothers part of the CFC?

Blue Star Mothers now part of the CFC! If you are a federal employee, postal worker or member of the U.S. military, please consider donating to us through your Combined Federal Campaign. Our CFC/OPM is 34583.

Where are the blueblue Star Mothers conventions held?

Blue Star Mothers do not have a permanent headquarters, so the headquarters travels with the national president. The current National President (2014–15) is Judy Dorsey of Ohio. Convention locations are chosen by the National President each year. Recent conventions have been held in Washington, D.C., Cincinnati, and San Francisco.