Who was a part of Der Blaue Reiter?

Who was a part of Der Blaue Reiter?

Held in February 1912, this second show included 315 works by over 30 international artists, including Paul Klee, André Derain, Jean Arp, Georges Braque, Maurice de Vlaminck, Mikhail Larionov, Natalya Goncharova, and Pablo Picasso.

Is Der Blaue Reiter Expressionism?

A German Expressionist group founded in Munich in 1911 by Wassily Kandinsky and Franz Marc. Its membership, who shared an interest in expressing a spiritual dimension in painting, featured in an almanac of the same name published in 1912.

What country is Kandinsky originally from?

Wassily Kandinsky/Nationality

Who started abstract art?

Wassily Kandinsky
Wassily Kandinsky is often regarded as the pioneer of European abstract art.

Where did Abstract Expressionism originate?

New York City
Introduction. The abstract expressionists were mostly based in New York City, and also became known as the New York school. The name evokes their aim to make art that while abstract was also expressive or emotional in its effect.

What is the difference between Der Blaue Reiter and Kandinsky?

While both confronted feelings of alienation within an increasingly modernizing world, Der Blaue Reiter sought to transcend the mundane by pursuing the spiritual value of art. Wassily Kandinsky, Franz Marc, Gabriele Münter were the theoretical centers of the group, which included a number of Russian immigrants and native Germans.

What does Kandinsky’s blue rider mean?

The choice of the semi-abstract “blue rider,” with the color blue symbolizing intense spirituality and the rider symbolizing transcendent mobility, makes Kandinsky’s print into a visual manifesto of his key concepts.

What is Derder Blaue Reiter?

Der Blaue Reiter ( The Blue Rider) was a group of artists united in rejection of the Neue Künstlervereinigung München in Munich, Germany.

When did Die Blaue Reiter end?

As a result, Der Blaue Reiter was short-lived, lasting for only three years from 1911 to 1914. Supported by their dealer Galka Scheyer, Kandinsky, Feininger, Klee and Alexej von Jawlensky formed Die Blaue Vier (the Blue Four) group in 1923.