Are pitbulls illegal in Fairfax County VA?

Are pitbulls illegal in Fairfax County VA?

“There are many other jurisdictions in the U.S. that have a ban on pit bulls. But in Fairfax County, it’s done on a case by case basis.

How many dogs can you own in Fairfax County VA?

County Code – Dogs 1 to 2 = No requirement. 3 to 4 = 12,500 square feet. 5 to 6 = 20,000 square feet. 7 or more = 25,000 square feet plus 5,000 sq feet for each additional dog above 7.

How much does it cost to adopt a dog in Virginia?


Type of Pet Fee
Puppy (under 1 year) $175.00
Dog (1-9 years) $150.00
Wise Whisker Dog (over 9 years) $100.00
Rabbits $25.00

Do you have to register cats in Fairfax County?

Cats do not require licenses in Fairfax County but need to be kept up-to-date on rabies vaccinations.

How many dogs can I own in Virginia?

Ownership of more than three adult dogs per family is prohibited in any residential district without a special exception permit.

Can I walk my dog without a leash in Virginia?

In Virginia, there is no statewide law regarding leashing your dog, however the law does allow for localities to adopt ordinances requiring a leash or restraint to prevent dogs from running at large[2].

How much does it cost to take a dog to SPCA?

We wish to assure the public that they should not be afraid to surrender pets for whatever reason. The SPCA does not charge for animals to be surrendered, however, donations are welcome. For assistance, kindly contact your local SPCA.

How old do you need to be to adopt a dog in Virginia?

at least 18 years old
Adoption Requirements: Must be at least 18 years old, with a photo ID.

How many cats are you allowed to own in Virginia?

Virginia State Laws Regarding Cat Ownership This law means that anyone in Virginia can own any number of kittens up to 4 months without needing a license. However, for cats over 4 months old, laws within individual counties, cities, or towns, may limit the number of cats you can have in your home.

How many dogs can you own in VA?

Is it illegal to leave a dog outside in Virginia?

Leaving pets outdoors without proper shelter to protect them is a crime in Virginia. Depending on the circumstances, violators could be charged with animal cruelty or failing to perform the duties of ownership, said Stephanie Cherry-Rupert, a supervisor with Norfolk’s Animal Protection Unit.

Are pitbulls illegal in Virginia?

According to the Virginia code, no canine or canine crossbreed can be found dangerous because of its breed and ownership of any particular breed cannot be prohibited.

Is it against the law to not pick up your dog’s poop in Virginia?

It’s the law! State code says: “It shall be unlawful for any person owning, keeping, or having custody or control of a dog to fail to remove immediately the dog’s excrement …” To neglect doing this is a Class 4 Misdemeanor. Picking up waste keeps our environment beautiful and clean.

What do you do when you no longer want your dog?

Your local animal shelters or rescue groups may offer low-cost veterinary care or training services or be able to refer you to other organizations that offer these services. Find your local shelters and rescues by visiting The Shelter Pet Project and entering your zip code.

What animals does the SPCA help?

SPCA stands for the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. This means any animal, whether it is a dog, cat, bird, reptile, horse, cow, sheep or goat.

How old do you have to be to adopt a cat in Virginia?

Do cats need a license in Virginia?

All dogs and cats four months old and older are required by state and local laws to wear a rabies tag and an animal license tag on their collar. City license tags are good for one calendar year and go on sale November 1 and must be purchased by January 31.