What is epiphysis metaphysis and diaphysis?

What is epiphysis metaphysis and diaphysis?

Epiphysis is the rounded end of a long bone. Its main function is to form joints with adjacent bones. The other prominent region of the long bone is diaphysis, which is its shaft. In between epiphysis and diaphysis, there is another part of the long bone; we call this metaphysis.

What bone has epiphysis and diaphysis?

long bone
Gross Anatomy of Bones. A long bone has two main regions: the diaphysis and the epiphysis (Figure 6.3. 1). The diaphysis is the hollow, tubular shaft that runs between the proximal and distal ends of the bone.

What is difference between epiphysis and diaphysis?

Difference between an Epiphysis and a Diaphysis Epiphysis meaning – It is the end part of a long bone, initially growing separate from the shaft. Diaphysis meaning – It is the shaft or central part of a long bone. It makes up the swollen rounded ends of the long bone.

What are the 4 types of epiphysis?

Epiphyses – Types

  • 2.1 1. Pressure epiphysis.
  • 2.2 2. Traction epiphysis.
  • 2.3 3. Atavistic epiphysis.
  • 2.4 4. Aberrant epiphysis.
  • 2.5 Share this:

What is metaphyseal and diaphyseal?

The long bone in a child is divided into four regions: the diaphysis (shaft or primary ossification centre), metaphysis (where the bone flares), physis (or growth plate) and the epiphysis (secondary ossification centre).

What is diaphysis bone?

The central tubular region of the bone, called the diaphysis, flares outward near the end to form the metaphysis, which contains a largely cancellous, or spongy, interior. At the end of the bone is the epiphysis, which in young people is separated from the metaphysis by the physis, or growth plate.

What is the metaphysis?

The metaphysis is the region where the epiphysis joins the diaphysis; in a growing bone this corresponds to the calcified layer of the epiphyseal plate together with the interdigitating bone (see Figure 4.19). The interface between the hypertrophic and calcified layers is sometimes referred to as the tidemark.

What are the 3 parts of long bone?

Long bones are longer than they are wide. They can be divided into three regions – epiphysis, metaphysis and the diaphysis. The epiphysis contains the spongy bone (also called cancellous), which in turn contains the red bone marrow that is responsible for synthesizing blood cells.

Where is diaphysis located?

A long bone has two parts: the diaphysis and the epiphysis. The diaphysis is the tubular shaft that runs between the proximal and distal ends of the bone. The hollow region in the diaphysis is called the medullary cavity, which is filled with yellow marrow.

What is epiphysis bone?

epiphysis, expanded end of the long bones in animals, which ossifies separately from the bone shaft but becomes fixed to the shaft when full growth is attained. The epiphysis is made of spongy cancellous bone covered by a thin layer of compact bone.

What is metaphyseal bone?

The metaphyses (singular: metaphysis) are the wide portions of long bones and the regions of the bone where growth occurs. Growth occurs at the section of the metaphysis that is adjacent to the growth plate (physis). The metaphysis is located between the diaphysis and epiphysis.

What does metaphysis mean?

Medical Definition of metaphysis : the transitional zone at which the diaphysis and epiphysis of a bone come together.

What are the 4 parts of the bone?

Let’s take a closer look.

  • Periosteum. The periosteum is a soft outer covering over the bone’s surface.
  • Cortical Bone. This layer is hard and thick.
  • Cancellous Bone. Cancellous bone is a spongy type of bone inside the cortical bone.
  • Bone Marrow.
  • A picture of the four bone layers.

What is a metaphysis?

What is bone metaphysis?

What are the 5 parts of the bone?

A typical bone can be broken down into multiple parts, each with a particular function:

  • Epiphysis. This part is at the extreme ends of the bone (epi = above), where joints (articulations) form.
  • Articular cartilage.
  • Diaphysis.
  • Metaphysis.
  • Periosteum.
  • Medullary (or marrow) cavity.
  • Endosteum.

What is the diaphysis?