What is fatty change?

What is fatty change?

Steatosis, also called fatty change, is abnormal retention of fat (lipids) within a cell or organ. Steatosis most often affects the liver – the primary organ of lipid metabolism – where the condition is commonly referred to as fatty liver disease.

What is bridging hepatic necrosis?

With more severe injury, necrosis may become confluent involving more than one zone within the lobule and/or extend zonally from one lobule to another adjacent lobule. The latter is termed “bridging necrosis” and can occur in various forms, such as central‐central or portal‐portal bridging necrosis.

What is interface hepatitis?

Interface hepatitis, formerly known as piecemeal necrosis, can be defined as death of hepatocytes at the interface of parenchyma and the connective tissue of the portal zone, accompanied by a variable degree of inflammation and fibrosis.

What causes fatty change?

Eating excess calories causes fat to build up in the liver. When the liver does not process and break down fats as it normally should, too much fat will accumulate. People tend to develop fatty liver if they have certain other conditions, such as obesity, diabetes or high triglycerides.

What is Fibroscan cap score?

Your CAP score is a measurement of fatty change in your liver. Your healthcare provider will use your CAP score to find out your steatosis grade. The CAP score is measured in decibels per meter (dB/m). It ranges from 100 to 400 dB/m.

What is focal necrosis?

Focal necrosis. Fig 44 – FOCAL NECROSIS: A focal area where a group of hepatocytes are necrotic and the area is infiltrated by inflammatory cells which in this case are mainly lymphocytes. Other times the reaction may be histiocytic as for example in granulomatous lesions.

Why is it called interface hepatitis?

Interface hepatitis The portal inflammation may remain confined to portal tracts. More commonly, it involves the adjacent hepatic parenchyma, thus obscuring the sharp demarcation of portal-parenchymal interface (limiting plate), and this is called interface hepatitis.

What does F4 fibrosis mean?

When fibrosis progresses to and distorts the liver architecture with formation of nodules, it is considered stage 4 fibrosis (F4) or cirrhosis.[6]

What are hepatic zones?

Functionally, the liver can be divided into three zones, based upon oxygen supply. Zone 1 encircles the portal tracts where the oxygenated blood from hepatic arteries enters. Zone 3 is located around central veins, where oxygenation is poor. Zone 2 is located in between.