What is the intellectual standard of breadth?

What is the intellectual standard of breadth?

Depth and Breadth are two standards that are commonly confused and used interchangeably. Depth of thought considers all of the complexities and difficulties of an issue whereas breadth incorporates thinking about all of the necessary contexts of the issue at hand.

What is breadth standard?

Breadth. recognizing insights in more than one side of a question. Logic. reasoning correctly with the system of principles, concepts, and assumptions that underlie a discipline, activity or practice. Significance.

What are the 5 intellectual standards?

To think well, people need to routinely meet intellectual standards, standards of clarity, precision, accuracy, relevance, depth, logic, and so forth.

What are the 7 standards of critical thinking?

Thinking critically entails knowledge and application of the standards: clarity, accuracy, precision, relevance, depth, breadth, logic, significance, and fairness.

What is the definition of intellectual standards?

The word “standard” is used to describe the level of quality that a given item possesses. So an “intellectual standard” is one that measures the overall value of a scholarly effort. Such standards apply to essays, reports, assignments, group discussions, and even notetaking.

What is an outcome of using breadth in critical thinking?

When all sides of an argument are discussed, then we find Breadth. Logical means that an argument is reasonable, the thinking is consistent and the conclusions follow from the evidence. When something makes sense step-by-step, then it is Logical. Significance compels us to include the most important ideas.

How many intellectual standards are there?

There are nine primary intellectual standards to keep in mind: clarity, precision, accuracy, depth, breadth, logic, significance, relevance, and fairness.

What are intellectual standards of thinking?

There are nine Intellectual Standards we use to assess thinking: Clarity, Accuracy, Precision, Relevance, Depth, Breadth, Logic, Significance, and Fairness. Let’s check them out one-by-one.

What are the 5 critical thinking principles?

It involves research, investigation, evaluation, conjecture and implementing. Having critical thinking ability is vital to many professions in today’s age of information society.

What are the 9 universal intellectual standards?

We postulate that there are at least nine intellectual standards important to skilled reasoning in everyday life. These are clarity, precision, accuracy, relevance, depth, breadth, logicalness, significance, and fairness.