Who are the Annamite people?

Who are the Annamite people?

Annam (Chữ Nôm: 安南; alternate spelling: Anam), or Trung Kỳ (中圻), was a French protectorate encompassing Central Vietnam. Before the protectorate’s establishment, the name Annam was used in the West to refer to Vietnam as a whole; Vietnamese people were referred to as Annamites.

Why was Vietnam called Annam?

Annam, French-governed Vietnam or, more strictly, its central region, known in precolonial times as Trung Ky (Central Administrative Division). The term Annam (Chinese: “Pacified South”) was never officially used by the Vietnamese to describe their country, even during the French colonial period.

Where is the Annamese Cordillera mountain range located?

Annamese Cordillera, French Chaîne Annamitique, Vietnamese Giai Truong Son, principal mountain range of Indochina and the watershed between the Mekong River and the South China Sea. It extends parallel to the coast in a gentle curve generally northwest-southeast, forming the boundary between Laos and Vietnam.

What animals live in the Annamite mountains?

The Annamites provide the last sanctuary in the world for many endemic monkeys, birds and plants as well as large mammals such as the Javan rhino, Asian elephant, and Indo-Chinese tiger. During the last ice age a ‘refuge’ of evergreen forest survived in the Annamites and many species evolved in isolation.

What was Vietnam called when it was a French colony?

Indochina, also called (until 1950) French Indochina or French Indochine Française, the three countries of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia formerly associated with France, first within its empire and later within the French Union.

Why did Ho Chi Minh leave Vietnam?

North Vietnam agreed to supply the NLF with military aid and support. While Ho Chi Minh remained president of North Vietnam, he withdrew from active decision- making due to failing health. repressive measures against political dissenters, but remained unable to stamp out the Viet Cong insurgency.

Does Vietnam have a mountain range?

The Annamite Range or the Annamese Mountains (French: Chaîne annamitique; Lao: ພູ ຫລວງ Phou Luang; Vietnamese: Dãy (núi) Trường Sơn) is a major mountain range of eastern Indochina, extending approximately 1,100 km (680 mi) through Laos, Vietnam, and a small area in northeast Cambodia.

What does the saola eat?

They are active during the day and primarily browsers, eating the leaves of fig trees and other bushes along riverbanks, as well as eating grasses and herbs from ground level. They live in dense wet, evergreen forest, including lowland secondary forest along rivers.

Which mountain is called Killer Mountain?

Nanga Parbat
Nanga Parbat is also unofficially referred to as “Killer Mountain,” in part because at least 31 people died trying to climb it before its incredible first ascent in 1953, completed solo and without oxygen, by the legendary Austrian alpinist Hermann Buhl.