Who owns Mayotte island?

Who owns Mayotte island?

The French administered Mayotte separately from the remainder of the Comoros beginning in 1975, when the three northernmost and predominantly Muslim islands of the Comoros declared independence, and the Muslim and Christian inhabitants of Mayotte chose to remain with France.

Where is the island of Mayotte?

the Comoros archipelago
Mayotte is an island of 250,000 people that is part of the Comoros archipelago off the coast of Africa. The Comoros was a French colony until 1975 when it declared independence.

Are Mayotte People French?

Mayotte became an overseas department of France in March 2011 in consequence of a 29 March 2009 referendum. The outcome was a 95.5 percent vote in favour of changing the island’s status from a French “overseas community” to become France’s 101st département.

Is Mayotte a country in Africa?

This land area is about 2.1 times the size of Washington, D.C. This makes Mayotte the second smallest country in Africa after British Indian Ocean Territory and the 38th smallest worldwide. With 686 inhabitants per km², it is also the most densely populated country in Africa.

What language is spoken in Comoros?

Comoros/Official languages

Is Reunion island an African country?

Reunion is thus one of the smallest countries in Africa by area and ranked 180th worldwide. The country consists of only one island. Reunion has no direct neighbours. The distance between New York City and the Capital Saint-Denis is about 14,810 km (9,203 mi).

Who owns Comoros islands?

Comoros, an independent state comprising three of the Comoro Islands in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa. A fourth island of the Comorian archipelago, Mayotte, is claimed by the country of Comoros but administered by France.

Where is Mauritius?

Indian Ocean
Mauritius is a subtropical island country in the Indian Ocean, just over 1,130 kilometres east of Madagascar, off the south-eastern coast of Africa. Its outlying territories include Rodrigues Island and other smaller islands.

What country owns Polynesia?

French Polynesia is a sprawling possession of France in the Pacific Ocean, made up of 118 volcanic and coral islands and atolls, including Tahiti.