Who was the last NBA team to win back-to-back titles?

Who was the last NBA team to win back-to-back titles?

The Lakers managed to defend their title in the 1988 Finals, winning the series in 7 games against the Pistons. They then became the first team to win back-to-back NBA titles since 1969.

Who is the first champions of NBA?

The Philadelphia Warriors
The Philadelphia Warriors won in the 1947 NBA Finals against the Chicago Stags, 4 games to 1. Not what you’re looking for?

Who won the 1945 NBA championship?

Philadelphia, coached by Eddie Gottlieb, who had the most extensive pro background of anyone in the BAA, defeated St. Louis and New York to advance to The Finals. Fulks, Howie Dallmar and Angelo Musi led Philadelphia past Chicago as the Warriors won the first league title 4-1.

Has any team ever 4 peated?

National Hockey League (Stanley Cup Finals) As of 2022, the Islanders are the last team of the 4 major professional sports (NHL, MLB, NFL, & NBA) to accomplish 4 championships in a row.

Who won the first NBA MVP?

Bob Pettit
The NBA began awarding an MVP in 1956. Bob Pettit of the St. Louis Hawks won the first. A few years later, dominant Boston Celtics legend Bill Russell would win three in a row (1961 through 1963).

Who won the 1942 NBA championship?

1941 to 1944

Year Higher seed Coach
1941 Oshkosh All-Stars (4, 1–3) Frank Zummach
1942 Oshkosh All-Stars (5, 2–3) Carl Bennett
1943 Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons (2, 0–2) Carl Roth
1944 Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons (3, 1–2) Carl Roth

Has anyone won 3 MVPs in a row?

Russell, Chamberlain, and Bird are the only players to win the award in three consecutive years.

Has anyone won 2 MVPs in a row?

Moses Malone, Houston Rockets & Philadelphia 76ers (1982, 1983) Moses Malone is the only player to win back-to-back MVPs for two different teams. In 1981-82, Malone had arguably his best season, scoring a career high 2,500+ points. He led the league in rebounds—and offensive rebounds, too.

Why is the behind-the-back pass so popular in basketball?

The behind-the-back pass has staying power, dating back to the days of barnstorming basketball when the hottest ticket in town was Pistol Pete Maravich at the Cow Palace. It was just as effective then as it is now, for many of the same reasons.

What is the history of the NBA Playoffs?

From 1946 through 1949, when the league was known as the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the playoffs were a three-stage tournament where the two semifinal winners played each other in the finals. The winning team of the series receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.

Who was the coach of the 1947 and 1948 NBA champions?

Champions Year Western finalist Coach Result Coach 1947 Chicago Stags (1) (1, 0–1) Harold Olsen 1–4 Eddie Gottlieb 1948 Baltimore Bullets (2) (1, 1–0) Buddy Jeannette 4–2 Eddie Gottlieb 1949 Minneapolis Lakers (2) (1, 1–0) John Kundla 4–2 Red Auerbach

What was the old Central Division in the NBA?

The defunct Central Division, in existence during the 1949–50 NBA season when the NBA was divided into three divisions and different from the current Central Division created in 1970 when the then existing Eastern Division was upgraded as a conference, won one championship.