Who holds the Border-Gavaskar Trophy?

Who holds the Border-Gavaskar Trophy?

Series/Tournament Season Winner
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia) 2014/15 Australia
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India) 2016/17 India
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia) 2018/19 India
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia) 2020/21 India

Why is it called the Border-Gavaskar Trophy?

The Indian cricket team had faced Australia in 50 Test matches between 1947 and 1996. And then the fabled competition was renamed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 1996 to celebrate the record-breaking achievements of cricket legends Sunil Gavaskar of India and former Australia captain Allan Border.

Who won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2001?

The Second Test in the Australian cricket team’s tour of India in early 2001 was a Test match played over five days at Eden Gardens in Kolkata from 11–15 March 2001. India won the match by 171 runs after being forced to follow-on, only the third time this has happened since Test cricket began in 1877.

How many times Dhoni won the Border Gavaskar Trophy?

Player Span Won
MS Dhoni (INDIA) 2008-2014 8
RT Ponting (AUS) 2004-2010 2
V Kohli (INDIA) 2014-2020 3
SR Waugh (AUS) 1999-2004 5

Who won Border Gavaskar Trophy 2018 19?

India won by 137 runs India retained the Border–Gavaskar Trophy as a result of winning this match. India became the fifth side to reach 150 wins in Test cricket.

Who won Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2018 19?

When did Australia last enforce the follow on?

Australia’s historical reluctance to enforce the follow on date back to their infamous loss to India in 2001 after Steve Waugh sent India back in only for VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid to turn the match on its head with a series turning partnership.

Is Border-Gavaskar Trophy held in India?

India, the current holders of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy have held on to the silverware nine times….Most runs in Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Player Cheteshwar Pujara (2010-19)
Tests 16
Runs 1,622
NO 2
Ave 60.1

Has India lost any Test series in India?

The last time India lost a Test series at home was vs England in 2012. The last time they drew at home was vs South Africa in 2010. Of the 14 Test series wins at home, only twice have India come from behind to win it. It happened in 2017 vs Australia and 2021 vs England.

Has India won any series in New Zealand?

The tour included three Tests, five ODIs and two T20Is….Indian cricket team in New Zealand in 2008–09.

Indian cricket team in New Zealand in 2009
Captains Daniel Vettori Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Test series
Result India won the 3-match series 1–0
Most runs Jesse Ryder (327) Gautam Gambhir (445)

Why Australia did not follow-on Pakistan?

Despite taking a huge lead of 408 runs, Australia did not enforce the follow-on to the surprise of many. Instead of trying to wrap up the game with their bowling attack fresh and firing, the visitors have opted for a safety-first approach and are looking to ensure they set a target out of Pakistan’s reach.

Has any team won after follow-on?

There have been only three occasions in Test cricket where a team that was forced to follow-on won the match. Incidentally, Australia lost all three matches.